2016-2017 Members

Meet Our Members for the 2016-2017 Program Year

abby-1-1

Member: Abby DeVita

Service Site: Family Health/La Clinica  

Favorite Part of Service:

“I’ve enjoyed learning about the importance of community in public health and how to improve access and quality of care to the populations that we serve.”



158

Member: Allie Walkush

Service Site: Family Health/La Clinica      

Favorite Part of Service:

“My favorite part of service is meeting different people and learning about all of the different cultures and backgrounds of the patients that we serve at FHLC.”



   166

Member: Beau Rigstad

Service Site: Winnebago County Health Department

Favorite Part of Service:

“One of the things I have enjoyed the most about my service at the Health Department so far is the amount of learning going on. I am able to educate other community members through a variety of events, but I am also learning a great deal myself about the health and lifestyles of the people in my community.”



carol-anne

Member: Carol Anne Maveety

Service Site: Sixteenth Street Community Health Center

Favorite Part of Service: 

“I’ve thoroughly enjoyed working in a diverse setting with so many different people.  Everyone has been so welcoming and helpful.  It’s also been great teaching families about health and nutrition because you get to see the positive changes happening in their lives.”



160

Member: Chloe Lang

Service Site: Lakeshore Community Health Center/NEWAHEC

Favorite Part of Service:

“My favorite part of service is being able to share the information I have learned throughout my service to members of the community. I enjoy helping individuals that never thought they could afford health insurance get enrolled for the first time. Also seeing so many young adults interested in the health care field is inspiring!”



183

Member: Connor Enright

Service Site: Healthy Kids Collaborative

Favorite Part of Service:

“My favorite part of service has been the opportunity to learn from public health officials, healthcare providers, school administrators and staff, and my colleagues about how to make healthy living the easy and affordable choice in Dane County. My understanding of health equity, community engagement, and population health has grown immensely and my career goals have been influenced by this new understanding of what makes a healthy community.”



danielle

Member: Danielle Krozel

Service Site: Scenic Bluffs Community Health Center

Favorite Part of Service:

“My favorite part about serving thus far has been the recognition and appreciation that I have received from community members and coworkers. Everyone is very supportive of the goals that I am trying to accomplish throughout this year.”



177

Member: Emily Carlson

Service Site: Eau Claire City-County Health Department

Favorite Part of Service:

“My favorite part about service is the chance to engage people in my community. To see them excited about making a change and to really come together. Having grown up in Eau Claire, I deeply care about the people  who live here and want to make sure everyone has health equity, and this year is allowing me to really contribute and give back.”



181

Member: Emily Held

Service Site: Dane County Department of Human Services

Favorite Part of Service:

“I’ve really enjoyed spending time in the community and getting to know the individuals I serve.  Along with that, it’s been great to learn of all the resources Madison has to offer, allowing me to better connect community members with the services they need and deserve.”



173

Member: Erin Crain

Service Site: Sixteenth Street Community Health Center

Favorite Part of Service:

“My favorite part of service has been interacting with patients as they progress through their pregnancy. The women have all been so appreciative when I connect them with services and different resources available through the clinic and their community, and I have enjoyed building relationships with the patients that I am serving this year.”



193

Member: Jenna Anderson

Service Site: Scenic Bluffs Community Health Center

Favorite Part of Service:

 “I enjoy being involved with the surrounding communities. As a native to this area it is nice know that my service is not only helping those who I don’t know but the many people I have connections with from here.”



164

Member: Josh Denk

Service Site: Waushara County Health Department

Favorite Part of Service:

“I would say that the thing I have enjoyed the most so far at my site is teaching a class called “Safe Dates” in several area high schools as part of their health or family living classes.”



171

Member: Kelli Rush

Service Site: Progressive Community Health Center

Favorite Part of Service: 

“My favorite part of service is being able to network and meet so many amazing community partners that are all working together to make Milwaukee stronger and healthier. Knowing that you are able to help the community you are in is an unbelievable reward.”



186

Member: Kiana Abel

Service Site: NorthLakes Community Health Center

Favorite Part of Service:

“My favorite part of service has been coming up with fun and engaging ideas which can add to our communities health and wellness. I have thoroughly enjoyed working with a wide array of topics and collaborating with staff in growing health awareness!”



168

Member: Madison Vandehey

Service Site: Children’s Health Alliance of Wisconsin

Favorite Part of Service:

“My favorite part of my service so far has been learning more about the public health interventions happening in Wisconsin to improve the health and well being of children. I have had the privilege to work on some of these interventions, including Reach Out and Read, Sleep Baby Safe and the Wisconsin Asthma Coalition. I hope that during my year of service I can make a difference in the lives of children in Wisconsin!”



182

Member: Paul Kage

Service Site: Bridge Community Health Clinic

Favorite Part of Service:

“Through these first few months of service, I have most enjoyed coordinating plot rentals for the Wausau Urban Community Gardens and collaborating with other coalitions and organizations within the community on community outreach programs.”



20170105_150042

Member: Ramona Jensen

Service Site: Fight Asthma Milwaukee Allies/ Milwaukee AHEC

Favorite Part of Service:

“Having recently begun my service as an AmeriCorps member I am very excited about the opportunity to serve my community. I enjoy working with families in their homes the most.  Assisting them in making their housing healthy for their families is very important to me because the healthier the family is the better they can enjoy their lives.”



shani-2

Member: Shani Toor

Service Site: Sixteenth Street Community Health Center

Favorite Part of Service:

“My favorite part of service is seeing patients in the clinic and speaking with them about their pregnancy. All of the patients that I see are very friendly and receptive to the information that I am giving them.”



184

Member: Trevor Neukirchen

Service Site: Marshfield Family Health Center-Eau Claire

Favorite Part of Service:

“My favorite part of my service thus far has been learning about how social determinants of health are an important factor to overall health outcomes. Connecting patients with resources that exist in their community seems to be such a elementary idea, but it helps turn struggles into manageable situations for our patients. Lastly, being part of a large clinic system focused on community health has been simply inspiring.”



163

Member: Yessra Sankari

Service Site: Winnebago County Health Department

Favorite Part of Service:

“My favorite part of service is conducting tobacco prevention activities with Middle school students and seeing all the little kiddos at the health department when they come in for a WIC appointment! And of course, learning more about the ins and outs of public health how it improves the health of the community behind the scenes!”

